TRLs are a sequence of carefully-defined levels of technology maturity, intended to help communicate the developmental status and risk of emerging technologies.

Level 1Basic principles observed and reported
Level 2Technology concept and/or application formulated
Level 3Analytical and experimental critical function and/or characteristic proof of concept
Level 4Component and/or breadboard validation in laboratory environment
Level 5Component and/or breadboard validation in relevant environment
Level 6System/subsystem model or prototype demonstration in a relevant environment (Ground or Space)
Level 7System prototype demonstration in an operational (space) environment
Level 8Actual system completed and (flight) qualified through test and demonstration (Ground and Space)
Level 9Actual system (flight) proven through successful mission operations

Level 1 | Level 2 | Level 3 | Level 4 | Level 5 | Level 6 | Level 7 | Level 8 | Level 9

Technology Readiness Level (TRL)

Download our presentation on the definitions used by NASA and documented by the DOD.

CSRP TRL Definitions
( 0.39 MB, 0.19 MB)
CSRP Office
428 Davey Lab
University Park, PA 16802
Phone: (814) 865-2957
Fax: (814) 865-3417
Copyright 2004 Center for Space Research Programs at
The Pennsylvania State University
Program Director: John Nousek
Webmaster: Eric Menendez